The Conquest

They tell me I can conquer the world,

Fulfil my dreams,

And satisfy all of my desires.

They tell me I can conquer the world,

Just so long as my I don’t step out of the house after 6 pm,

Wear clothes that cover me from top to toe and can in no way entice a man with even a hint of suggestion.

They tell me I can conquer the world,

Right after I’ve done my duty to my parents by getting married by 25,

And have done right by my husband by having kids when he wanted and raised them by staying back at home.

They tell me I can conquer the world,

Provided that my work doesn’t threaten my bosses, overtake my peers, or make me earn more than my partner.

They tell me I can conquer the world,

Then they clip my wings before I leave my nest, chop my legs below my knees, knock the wind out of my lungs and mount me on a wall like a hunted down quarry.

But,

They tell me I can conquer the world.

Featured Image

14 thoughts on “The Conquest

  1. It’s a beautiful and deep poem 😊
    Portrays the irony in our society where the girls are encouraged to dream big but not allowed to leave the nest.
    Loved reading it 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

