A Theme for a Dream

I’ve always feared to dream a dream

Only to watch it fade away with the morning sun.

I’ve always been betrayed by dreams

That seemed more fickle then a passing desire.

I’ve always heard with wistful sighs

People romancing their dreams as life passed me by.

I’ve always thought they’d pale away

Under the searing purge of reality.

So never before have I dared to dream

Be it with my eyes opened or closed.

Did you have any clue of my depravity?

Because I met you today and you smiled at me

And tonight,

Tonight, I feel like dreaming.


PS: Have you ever heard Cliff Richard’s ‘A theme for a dream”? If you haven’t yet, please do! It comes highly recommended 😊

Featured Image

Catch up with me on social media-

19 thoughts on “A Theme for a Dream

  1. Well, this is quite impressive! Loved the way you walked us through to the ending, which was superb! I think you have a subject matter that will just keep on giving for you!!! Bravo! This was great
    You enticed me to check my work and see if I have any on dreams. I mention them quite alot but not really the title topic.

    Check these out – Forever’s Just A Dream; Jumbled Up Dreams; My Sweet Dreams (just do a search on these titles)
    Hope you find some things you like.

    Have you any more???
    Chuck

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I remembered this off the top of my head. I’ll definitely search for some more that are similarly themed and send them to you. You are right, this has a myriad aspects that can be explored at length.
      I’ll definitely check out the ones you’ve mentioned.
      And really, thank you for your constant encouragement 🙂.

      Like

    1. Thank you!
      Mine as well, in a way. I end up writing poems mentally while trying to sleep or just on the verge of it. Unfortunately, when I wake up and try to jot them down, they’re never nearly as nice as the one’s I remember dreaming of but cannot recall every word. Thank you for the encouragement though! I’ll dream more often ☺️

      Like

      1. When I wake up during the night I jot down key words or phrases I dreaming, no matter how silly they seemed and then I write bit and pieces and pieces and bits and have fun trying to picture it all together like a jigsaw puzzle.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hehehe, that’s what I do too! But it always makes me sad that I missed out on the flow that was present in my thoughts and then I can’t figure it out for the life of me! It gets frustrating at times. Glad to know I’m not alone in this.

          Like

          1. Le problème c’est qu’il y a une énorme confusion entre les échanges commerciaux internationaux de marchandises et le &#8o&6;m2ndialisme1#8217; qui est une ideologie souhaitee par la grnade finance internationale…Le commerce international des marchandises existe depuis des millénaires. La Grece, Rome, Tamerlan… Sous Gengis Khan, près de la moitie du monde était une zone de libre échange de marchandises…

            Like

Leave a Reply

