Tape A Tale – Let Stories Unfurl

[Disclaimer: This is not a sponsored post]

In a world that is becoming exceedingly visual/image oriented, where CGI effects are taking over storylines, you get a more than nagging feeling that something’s lacking. Fortunately, the old world charm of books and stories can still hold its own. Our very much needed respite. 
Where books, on the one hand, leave a lot open to the interpretation of readers, the art of story-telling is so much more than that. Haven’t we all fallen prey to a misinterpreted text because someone did not get the intended “tone” and “tenor” of it, hence, resulting in major misunderstanding? Thus, the written word is somewhat more concerned with the perspective of the reader, which, in its own place, is invaluable.

Hearing stories, on the other hand, is not only a lesson in imagination, but the charm of experiencing feelings, expressions and emotions, in the way originally intended by the story-teller, accompanied by a voice that dips and rises, hums and croons, tremors and powers through is a pleasure that has no parallel. 

Aren’t our most favourite of childhood memories centred around listening to bedtime stories? Wasn’t “Do the voices, Daddy” our favourite exclamation?  Or is there any memory that fills more warmth in your heart than the beautiful remembrance of lying down in your grandmother’s lap while she serenaded you with fairy tales?

If stories are your preferred food for soul, I’ve got a treasure trove for you this weekend!

I recently came across a website, Tape A Tale. It’s an online platform where visitors can record their stories for everyone out there to hear (yes, even anonymously). So I got to listening to the recorded tales and I’ve been completely booked ever since.

It has a little something for everyone. Ranging from the story of a young girl who lost her father in the Kargil War, to that of 75 year old man recounting his first ever realisation that he was beginning to lose his memory. There’s a tale of a first date gone horribly wrong, there’s also a tale of a girl choosing to marry her own self. There are struggles of having overcome depression and domestic abuse, there are struggles of dealing with autism. There’s a girl narrating how she met her father for the first time in 24 years, there’s another girl narrating how she smoked up with her mother for the first time. Spanning across five categories, viz., Funny stories, Adventurous Stories, Emotional Stories, Thought-Provoking Stories and Different Kinds of Relationship Stories, the content on there is endless.

No more long, boring rides/drives to and from work for me. Even while doing any sort of work, I can let dulcet tones of stories give you a pleasant company. Restless nights of tossing and turning are done away with by letting a bedtime tale lull you to sleep. I’ve been listening to stories anywhere and everywhere!

So, if stories have a special place in your heart too, let Tape A Tale become your warm, cozy, nook. 

Head on over there, explore around a bit, record a few, hear a couple, then come on back here and tell me how you liked it!

Even I’ll be recording my story on it today, just need to find a quiet room first so that I can sit down with my phone’s voice recorder, mail it out and I’ll be all set. In case you happen to give me a listen, please give me your feedback in the comments section down below. For your reference, I’m copying the link to the website here as well: www.tapeatale.com

Just so you know, this is not a sponsored post, because, let’s face it, who’s even going to sponsor me! So the only payment I receive would be the smiles on your faces when you listen to something you really like. I think I can live with that quite well.

Thank you for reading.

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. AFAIC th’tas the best answer so far!

    Like

  2. dhananjaybhati June 17, 2017 — 7:50 am

    I’ll surely listen to your story😊
    Looking forward to it💙

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dhananjaybhati June 17, 2017 — 7:50 am

    Listening to stories do ignite a swirl of emotions😊
    Some of my favorite childhood memories are of my dad telling me stories as I slept in his laps!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

