Lost and found

Many, many years ago,

I saw a girl on a crowded sidewalk.

All kinds of lost she looked.

Dazed, perplexed, scared and confused.

But before I could wonder more,

A man stepped up and held her hand

And she suddenly smiled, all radiant and warm

Like she finally had the world in her palm.

This is it! I thought.  This is love,

Without which you’re lost.

Yet time went on and the world taught

Many more lessons that love I forgot.

I saw hurt, I saw lies, I saw betrayal and heartbreak.

I saw pain, I saw wounds,

I saw my reflection damaged beyond repair.
Till there came a man with a light so bright,

It took all I had to be able to gaze upon his face.

But I looked and remembered in an instant then

That long lost memory.

This is it, this is what love is,

Without which I was lost, so lost.

But now I am found again.

4 thoughts on “Lost and found

Leave a Reply

