The Topsy Turvy-ness of a Young Life

I am 24. I have a decent paying job, I can comfortably meet my expenses and I literally want for nothing at the moment. Yet, I am not happy. There is a constant, nagging feeling that this is not it, this is not all. There has to be something more. Something more rewarding. I take to the internet to find what I really should be doing. I have always harboured a love for reading and writing. So I decide that’s a perfectly good place to begin with. I should write. Write for my own self for a start. Mystically, I am uncharacteristically tongue tied. This would be a good place to tell you that I’m a particularly garrulous young woman. Nothing stumps me. Then why should what I love doing leave me at a complete loss. That’s when the enormity of the situation strikes me. And I know, I will wake up tomorrow perfectly contented with my job and go about doing it in a satisfying albeit mechanical manner. This one day burst of passion having ebbed out (the nagging feeling very resolutely pushed into a corner).
The Conundrum of human nature in all its glory, people. The constant lust for the extraordinary yet the inherent desire to hide within the comfort of the usual, known, humdrum affair with life. This realization instills in me a new found respect for the people who threw caution to the wind and dared to plunge into the void without a safety harness. They have successfully resisted the human urge to abhor change and have removed themselves from self inflicted shackles. It is immaterial if they succeeded in their pursuit of the new, it matters that they pursued. Have courage yet, all ye young hearts and try to break free. Adventure is out there! (In the words of a favourite Pixar movie)

Leave a Reply

